技术

匿名增强技术:Zerocoin协议

零知识加密证明

在比特币中,所有交易都在公共账本上进行广播。 研究表明,外部信息(如公开发布的地址)会将身份和机构链接到交易。 比特币地址的默认复用加剧了这个问题。

此外,用于破解社交网络中的隐私的相同类型的机制(例如社交网络拓扑分析)可用于破坏比特币网络中的隐私。

比特币和早期的竞争币已经尝试通过使用交易混合器或环签来解决这个问题。 然而,这些提出的解决方案有许多缺点。 首先,混合器器或环签中的恶意或受感染成员可能会破坏隐私。 此外,匿名集是了解加密货币匿名性的重要指标。 在早期解决方案中匿名集受到混合量或环签的大小的限制,而混合量或环签长度受交易数量限制,这由加密货币的区块大小决定。 因此,在以前的匿名尝试中匿名集往往只有几百个交易。

在Zcoin中,匿名集的数量要大得多。 Zcoin的匿名集不会被限制在几十个,而是包含了一个特定的RSA累加器中的所有被熔铸的硬币,可以扩展到数千个,与其他解决方案不同,我们可以不受交易图分析的约束。

        

去中心化的公平挖矿算法:MTP

比特币及其他工作量证明(POW)加密货币都受到算力集中的影响,这主要由于专用矿机而造成的。

MTP算法由卢森堡大学的Alex Biryukov和Dmitry Khovratovich在2016年6月11日发表的题为“平等计算”的论文中提出,该论文随后于2018年1月得到改进(研究部分由Zcoin资助)。他们也参与了Equihash的研发。

平等计算

创建MTP是为了平衡普通用户和敌对者/作弊者之间的算力差,后者可以使用诸如僵尸网络,GPU,FPGA和ASICS等方式获得明显的算力优势并进行低成本攻击。其基本理念是各种挖矿方式算力成本接近,攻击者需要花费与普通用户相同的成本才能获得等效算力。由于攻击者需要使用与普通用户类似的硬件,因此无法再进行自动化大规模攻击。同时MTP中的哈希计算是高度内存密集的,被木马程序感染的用户将会遇到明显的性能下降,此时就有极大可能及时发现并清楚木马。

通过许多现有的工作算法证明,例如SHA256(Bitcoin),Scrypt(Litecoin,Dogecoin)和X11(Dash)可以看到大规模算力几乎全部集中在ASIC矿场中,普通用户没有被激励参与网络安全。即使在像Ethereum中使用的Ethash这样的新方案中,其被故意设计为GPU友好型(比CPU上的效率高出100倍),但这仍然鼓励GPU矿场和集中化。 Equihash尽管是内存密集型,但其顺序内存难度不高,这意味着它可以大部分并行化,这使得对其ASIC的开发具有可能。

这并不意味着我们不鼓励GPU挖掘,对于MTP来说,即使大量矿工使用GPU挖掘,CPU挖掘仍将保持一定的竞争力。

快速轻量级验证

MTP虽然在查找解决方案时需要大量计算量和内存,但一旦找到,其解决方案可以快速有效地进行验证,而无需大量内存。我们参考实际使用情况采取2GB的内存需求,使在多CPU运行时能够轻松被用户注意到,MTP被设计为最高支持10 gb的RAM使用,同时还可保持其他PoW算法无法实现的快速验证。

这很重要,因为通过快速保持验证,这使得网络更能抵抗针对验证者的DoS攻击。它还允许诸如智能手机之类的轻量级硬件执行验证,这在许多其他连续内存密集型算法上是不可能的, MTP最大的特点就是需要大量的连续内存同时验证速度非常快。

        

白皮书

Zerocoin: Anonymous Distributed E-Cash from Bitcoin (Ian Miers, Christina Garman, Matthew Green, Aviel D. Rubin)

This is the original Zerocoin paper that forms the foundation of our privacy protocol. Zcoin was the first to implement this protocol in September 2016.

Improvements to libzerocoin that solved two flaws was identified by Tim Ruffing when engaged to audit Zerocoin by Zcoin. These improvements have been incorporated and are now live.

MTP: Egalitarian Computing (Alex Biryukov, Dmitry Khovratovich) (revision and improvement funded by Zcoin)

MTP is the Proof of Work algorithm that Zcoin uses that promotes egalitarian mining while maintaining quick verification. The original paper had flaws as identified by Dinur and Nadler. Zcoin organized a bounty to harden MTP and also funded research to solve these issues as reflected in the linked paper. MTP was coded from the ground up by Zcoin and switched to the MTP algorithm in December 2018.

Dandelion++ Lightweight Cryptocurrency Networking with Formal Anonymity Guarantees (Giula Fanti et al)

Dandelion++ was originally developed for Bitcoin as a way to obscure the origin of transactions by changing the way transactions propagate through the network. Dandelion++ is slated to go live on Bitcoin Core 0.18. Zcoin was the first project to go live with Dandelion++ on mainnet in September 2018.

One-out-of-Many Proofs: Or How to Leak a Secret and Spend a Coin (Jens Groth et al)

One out of Many Proofs forms the foundation of Sigma which improves on Zerocoin by removing trusted setup and reducing proof sizes. Zcoin is also applying some further efficiency modifications to the original paper. Sigma is in development and is slated to be released in Q1 2019.

Lelantus: Private transactions with hidden origins and amounts based on DDH (Aram Jivanyan)

Lelantus is Zcoin’s next generation privacy protocol which improves on Sigma by removing the requirement of fixed denominations allowing people to mint arbitrary amounts and spend partial amounts without revealing values. The Lelantus paper is still under development and is seeking peer review. Coding on the cryptographic libraries of Lelantus has begun. Lelantus is Zcoin’s own innovation.

Technology

Privacy-enhancing Technology: Zerocoin Protocol

Zero-Knowledge cryptographic proofs

In Bitcoin, all transactions are broadcasted on a public ledger. Research has shown that external information, such as publicly announced addresses, can be used to link identities and organizations to transactions. The default reuse of bitcoin addresses exacerbates this problem.

Furthermore, the same type of mechanism used to break privacy in social networks, such as the analysis of social network topology, can be used to break privacy in the Bitcoin network.

Bitcoin and preceding alternative cryptocurrencies have attempted to solve this problem through the use of transaction mixers or ring signatures. However, there are a number of drawbacks to these proposed solutions. For one, a malicious or compromised member of a mixer or ring signature can break privacy. Furthermore, the anonymity set is a key metric to understanding how private a cryptocurrency is. The anonymity set in formerly proposed solutions is limited by the size of the mixing cycle or ring signature. Each mixing cycle or ring signature is limited by the number of transactions per cycle, which is transitively limited by the the block size of the cryptocurrency. Thus, the anonymity set in previous attempts at privacy tends to only be a few hundred transactions.

With Zcoin, the anonymity set is on a dramatically higher magnitude. Instead of having an anonymity set limited to the few dozen, Zcoin has an anonymity set that encompasses all minted coins in a particular RSA accumulator that can scale to many thousands and unlike other solutions is not subject to transaction graph analysis.

Decentralized and Fair Security: MTP

Bitcoin and many other Proof of Work coins suffer from centralization of security. This mainly arises from the creation of highly specialized machines

The MTP algorithm was devised by Alex Biryukov and Dmitry Khovratovich from the University of Luxembourg in their paper published on the 11 June 2016 titled Egalitarian Computing which was subsequently improved in January 2018 (with research partially funded by Zcoin). These are the same researchers who came up with Equihash.

Egalitarian Computing

MTP was created as a way to remedy the disparity between ordinary users and adversaries/cheaters where the latter could use botnets, GPU, FPGA and ASICS to gain a significant advantage and mount a cheaper attack. The basic concept is that it should establish the same price/cost for a single computation unit on all platforms. This means that no single device should gain a significant advantage over another for the same price hence promoting egalitarian computing. With egalitarian computing, attackers would need to spend the same amount as ordinary users for equivalent ‘hashing’ power. As attackers need to usesimilar hardware as ordinary users, automated large-scale attacks become no longer possible. This combined with the fact hashing in MTP is highly memory intensive, users infected by trojans to participate in botnets would experience noticeable performance degradation and therefore more likely to suspect something is amiss.

Massive centralization can be seen with many existing proof of work algorithms such as SHA256 (Bitcoin), Scrypt (Litecoin, Dogecoin) and X11 (Dash) where hashing power is centralized in ASIC farms and normal users are not incentivised to participate in the security of the network. Even in newer schemes such as Ethash which is used in Ethereum, although it is deliberately designed to be GPU friendly (more than a 100x more efficient than on a CPU), this still encourages GPU farms and centralization. Equihash despite it being memory hard, is not sequentially memory hard, meaning it can be mostly parallelized which makes development of ASICs more likely.

This doesn’t mean that we discourage GPU mining, but with MTP it is foreseen that even with GPUs mining, CPU mining would still remain competitive.

Fast and lightweight Verification

MTP although it is computationally and memory intensive to find the solution, once found, its solution can be quickly and efficiently verified without requiring a lot of memory. Although our reference implementation uses 2gb of RAM making it noticeable on many CPUs thus discouraging botnets as it would be noticeable to the user, MTP is designed to even support RAM usage up to 10 gb while remaining quick to verify that is not possible with other PoW implementations.

This is important since by keeping verification quick, this makes the network more resistant to DoS attacks that target verifiers. It also allows lightweight hardware such as smartphones to perform verification which is not possible on many other hard memory hard algorithms. Verification speed of MTP is very quick.

Incentivized Infrastructure: Znodes

Improving Zerocoin